Herschel Walker to Receive Doak Walker Legends Award

Walker vs. SC e1484318909468 770x539

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum has selected Heisman Trophy-winning running back and 1999 College Football Hall of Fame inductee Herschel Walker as the recipient of the 2016 PwC Doak Walker Legends Award. The award was created in 1998 to honor former running backs that excelled at the collegiate level and went on to distinguish themselves as leaders in their communities.

Walker will accept his trophy at the Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet on Saturday, Feb. 18, in Dallas. He joins an impressive list of past recipients: Barry Sanders (2015), Bo Jackson (2014), Floyd Little (2013), Jim Brown (2012), Tommy McDonald (2011), Jim Taylor (2010), Eric Dickerson and Craig James (2009), Calvin Hill (2008), Marcus Allen (2007), Walter Payton (2006), Jim Swink (2005), John David Crow (2004), Doc Blanchard and Glenn Davis (2003), Earl Campbell (2002), Tony Dorsett (2001), Pete Dawkins (2000), Archie Griffin (1999), and Gale Sayers (1998).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *