NFL Alumni Members Staubach & Page To Receive Presidential Medal of Freedom

Pro Football Hall of Famers Roger Staubach (above left) and Alan Page (above right) each will receive the Presidential Medal of Freedom today (11/16) during a White House ceremony.

The Medal of Freedom is the nation’s highest honor for a civilian. The awards will be presented by President Trump who also chose five other non-football recipients this year.

Staubach (Cowboys 1969-79) served in the Navy, including a tour of duty in Vietnam, after graduating from the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis. He became a highly successful businessman after his football career.

Page graduated law school while playing with the Vikings and was elected as an Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court in 1992 where he served until mandatory retirement in 2015.

Both men are known for their highly-respected community activities throughout the country. (See link here for more info on tomorrow’s ceremony.)

The only previous NFL alumnus to receive this treasured award was the late World War II Lieutenant Commander and U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice Byron (Whizzer) White who posthumously received the Medal in 2003. Justice White was a two-time NFL rushing champion with the Steelers in 1938 and the Lions in 1940.  

We at NFL Alumni are proud of both Alan Page and Roger Staubach– two examples of the thousands of you who contribute so much to your communities in your post-NFL careers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *